top of page

Deja Covington-Booth, CC


My Hobbies Are:

  • Playing sports, basketball in particular

  • Having deep conversations

  • Watching food network

  • Watching basketball

  • Listening to music

  • Attempting to sing

  • Cooking

  • Drawing

  • Writing

  • Every now and then I play video games

  • Reading

My Life Motto:

“Stay true to who you are” / “Be your own person” and “Treat others how you want to be treated.”

My Major:

I am a Psychology Major with a Minor in Sociology.

What I Plan To Do In the Future:

What I plan to do in the future is continue to work on becoming the best person I can be, inside and outside of the classroom. I want to become more engaged within my community, become a more effective leader, and challenge as well as witness myself grow in all areas possible. In the next 3 years, I also plan to get as prepared as I can for Graduation and Graduate School, whether that be staying on top of my credentials or simply building my resume. After Graduating with my Bachelors degree, I plan to find a job and go straight to Grad School to get either my Masters or PhD. My career goals are to become a licensed Therapist/Counselor and work for an already established company, then later down the road possibly start my own practice.

I chose to be a cohort captain because leadership comes natural to me, and I take pride in setting and being a good example for others. Another reason I chose to be a Cohort Captain was because I wanted to play a part in providing the incoming Freshman/Guarantee Scholars with support and guidance, just as I received. I have now witnessed how hard it is transitioning from High School to College, being away from family and friends and being out of your comfort zone, so I look forward to doing my best to make sure that the new Scholar’s transitions are as smooth as possible and that they come at least somewhat close to feeling that UNCG and Guarantee are their “home away from home.”

My advice for incoming Freshman is to put your studies before anything else, make wise choices and don’t lose sight of who you are, no matter what. Your choices now can and will affect you in the future. Things such as friends and parties come and go, but a full-ride scholarship and outstanding support system like the Guarantee Program doesn’t. Learning how to balance between having fun and staying on top of your coursework will be crucial, so surround yourself with people who want to see you succeed and have your best interests at heart. Last but not least, have fun. Freshman year will probably be terrifying at first, but keep your head up because you have just embarked on what will be the most amazing 4 years of your life.


bottom of page