top of page

Spartan Starter Pack


Welcome to your journey at the illustrious University of North Carolina at Greensboro! You're probably in your rooms right now wondering, "what should I bring with me to school"? Well, we're here to offer you just a little bit of insight on what you should bring when it comes to the essentials.

Three years ago, I was sitting in my room in the center of a tornado of clothes labeled "GO" and "DON’T GO" packing for my future. I was a first generation college who had no idea what it was like to be on a college campus. I could not use my family’s expertise on college, because the only time they saw college was on movies and television shows like “A Different World”. I was struggling with the concept of whether less is more or if packing for surviving a zombie invasion was more suitable.

A bit of advice for someone of the indecisive type would be to pack as if this is your home. You'll be here on campus for a long time and those of you who are venturing three, five, or 10 hours away from your parents, you can get a little homesick while away at school. So, my suggestion, on top of the list that I'm going to provide you with, would be to bring mementos that uplift you in hopes of creating a positive energy in the place that you will dwell. Try to make your dorm as homey as your bedroom at home while staying within the guidelines of campus for your safety. For any questions on what to bring and what not to bring to campus please contact:

Housing and Residence Life

Telephone: (336) 334-5636

Website: hrl.uncg.edu

Your First Year

Telephone:(336) 541-6939

Facebook: UNCG Your First Year

Twitter: UNCGYFY

Check out this list!


bottom of page