top of page

First Generation College Student: SSS is for YOU!


When I came to college I had no idea what it was like, because no one in my family chose to venture into higher learning. I had questions just like any other student, but I felt I did not quite fit in at first. I often questioned whether the path I chose was something I was ready for. There came a time when I needed someone who had been in my position to guide me out of my doubt. Meeting with other students whose parents never went to college provided a level of comfort; to know there were students at UNCG like me. Working with graduates who acquired successful careers guide us from our self-doubt made it more personal. Guarantee will always be there for you, but some students may need larger support network.

What makes you eligible?

-first generation (parents never attended college)

-modest income backgrounds

-have a disability

-demonstrate academic need for services

What does Student Success Services offer?

-academic skills

-tutoring

-counseling

Contact information:

Special Support Services

336.334.3878

lac@uncg.edu.

Tutoring Request Form link:

http://success.uncg.edu/lac/service_request.htm

bottom of page