top of page

Lost Keys?

Sometimes we lose things; it’s no different in college.

Hello Scholars,

A few years ago I found myself locked out of my room in Winfield Residence Hall. I couldn’t find my keys and my roommate was nowhere in sight. It took a little time, but I was able to find the help I needed and get into my room where I found my keys laying on my desk.

I’d like to share the necessary steps you can take to get into your room if you ever find yourself locked out of your residence hall and/or room!

Lock-Out Policy

If you are locked out of your room, a Housing and Residence Life staff member is available to open your door. You will need picture identification in order to be assisted with a lock-out. On the third lockout in an academic year and for each lockout thereafter a $10.00 fee will be charged and placed on a resident’s student account. Lost Key Charges are as follows: Suites and Apartments $75, Traditional Rooms $35. The lock-out schedule is posted on the HRL website below.

Lost Key Policy

If a student has lost their key, they must come to the Housing and Residence Life office in order to receive a Lock Change for their door. This procedure is in place to ensure the buildings security and safety are upheld to the highest standards. Once at lock change form is completed in the Housing Office the locks will be changes the following business day and all students assigned to that room will need to visit HRL with a valid ID to receive their new keys. Without picking up the new keys, students will not have access to their room unless they complete a lockout request with an RA.

For additional information please visit the HRL website:

https://hrl.uncg.edu/services/lost-keys/

Cheers!

bottom of page